Location: Toronto, ON
This Heritage building was built in the 1829 and has been owned by the Ontario Government and Law Society since 1840. Once Canada’s largest common law school, it is currently home to the Ontario Court of Appeal, the superior Court Of Justice and the Law Society of Upper Canada. The building has withstood more than ten major restoration projects and has been regarded as one of Canada’s most unique architectural achievements. Convocation Hall boasts ten gorgeous heraldic stained glass windows, covering 4,000 years of law.
The main entrance of the building opens up with a spectacular rotunda, beginning with the original floor tiling to the elegant arched pillars and curved wood, to finally ending in the metal ceiling structure, which houses an incredible original stained glass and skylight.
The Great Library, touted as the most beautiful room in Canada, also houses an intricate stained glass ceiling lit by a skylight above. EDG was engaged in the early 1990’s to carry out condition surveys and reports for the building in regards to conservation. EGD followed up by carrying out all remedial work.
After years of little to no maintenance these spectacular stained glass windows were due for a restoration which EGD carried out seamlessly. Over the years the lead came matrix had deteriorated, the glass panels needed repair due to breakage, and were severely in need of cleaning. The American skylight was restored beautifully and now shines brightly in the library.
EGD was skillfully able to repair and restore the stained glass dome insitu which is located in the Benches staircase in the Law Society. EGD is currently still engaged by Osgoode Hall’s building department to maintain and conserve all stained glass work within the building.